SNA Announces 2010 Editors & Journalists of the Year Winners

The SNA Editorial Contest attracts more than 1,500 entries each year from more than 250 newspapers across North America. We’re pleased to announce the winners of the prestigious Editor and Journalist of the Year honors; all first place winners will be recognized at the Fall Publishers’ and Advertising Directors’ Conference.

The winners of the remaining 36 categories of the Editorial Contest will be announced in early February.

The SNA Editor of the Year award recognizes an editor who has made outstanding contributions to his or her publishing company through strong management skills, readership initiatives, community involvement, innovation and a commitment to quality journalism.

Mary Lou Montgomery, Hannibal Courier-Post, GateHouse Media, Inc.

Judge’s comment: Understands editors should do more than sit at their desks. She is an advocate for her community.

Editor of the Year-Daily
2nd Place: Mitch Pugh, Sioux City Journal, Lee Enterprises, Inc.
3rd Place: Gersh Kuntzman, Brooklyn Paper, Community Newspaper Group of New York

Clay Lambert, Half Moon Bay Review, Wick Communications Company

Judge’s comment: Clay has inspired a generation of newsmakers. He strives to make the newsroom a classroom with weekly post mortems and “kickers”. An editor who exemplifies all of the good stuff.

Editor of the Year-Weekly
2nd Place: Dan Shearer, Green Valley News & Sun, Wick Communications Company
3rd Place: Ben Cason, ThisWeek Community Newspapers, Consumer News Services
Honorable Mention: Dan Koller, Park Cities People Newspaper, People Newspapers

The SNA Journalist of the Year award acknowledges a journalist whose work advances public understanding of life with the communities served by the newspapers.

Will Doolittle, The Post-Star, Lee Enterprises, Inc.

Judge’s comment: His 25+ years of experience benefits every reader. Doolittle is a prolific investigative reporter and tenacious editor.

Journalist of the Year-Daily
2nd Place: Jennifer Mann, The Patriot Ledger, GateHouse Media, Inc.

Stephen Brown, Brooklyn Paper, Community Newspaper Group of New York

Judge’s comment: Proves news can be informative and entertaining!

Journalist of the Year-Weekly
2nd Place: Jeff Mitchell, Oshawa This Week, Metroland Media Group Ltd.
3rd Place: Bethany Rodgers, Maryland Independent, Post-Newsweek Media Inc.
Honorable Mention: David Lea, Oakville Beaver, Metroland Media Group Ltd.
Honorable Mention: Catherine O’Hara, Flamborough Review, Metroland Media Group Ltd.

Congratulations to all our winners for their outstanding successes and well-deserved honors. SNA would like to offer special thanks to John Slania, Journalism Program Director, and all the faculty with Loyola University Chicago, School of Communication who helped judge the 2010 competition.